Yamunamai Rural Municipality is situated at mid part of Rautahat district, Province two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 by combining then Jetaraiya, Vediyahri, Rajapur Tulsi, Saruatha and Jhunkhunawa Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Madhav Narayan Municipality from north, Paroha and Rajpur Municipalities from west, Durga Bhawani Rural Municipality from east and Rajpur and Rajdevi Municipalities from south. This local unit is divided into five wards. This local unit is named after Yamunamai goddess of Hindu devotees.

As per the census 2011, total population of this Rural Municipality is 23,884. Ward number four is most populated ward. It occupies total area of 16.7 kilometer square. Most of the area is covered by farming land followed by garden, forest, resistance area and rivers. Though most of the people are involved in farming all the land doesn’t has irrigation facility. Labor, foreign employment and service are other occupations. This is prone area for paddy and wheat. Maithali is major language spoken and Hindu is major religion followed.

Mr. Shree Prasad Mukhiya is Chairperson and Ms. Geeta Devi Shah is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Saruatha village Ward number four is center of this local unit. Total number of employees working under this local unit is 14.