The geographical area of Yangwarak Rural Municipality is 208.63 sq km. It has a population of 18281 according to census 2011. This rural municipality has six wards. It was formed by merging five former VDCs. It is surrounded by Sikkim of India in the east and Hilihang gaunpalika in the west and Taplejung district in the north and Phalelung and Hilihang rural municipality in the south. The headquarter of this municipality is situated in Tharpu.

Kalika devi, Siddhapokhari are religiously popular places of this rural municipality. The climate of the rural municipality has all the types that elevation of the location from subtropical conditions to warm mid-mountain and cool temperature conditions of higher parts of mountains. Commercial production of black cardamom is very common by every household here. Fruits and vegetables are also of high production from this area. Seasonal fruits like orange, jackfruit, pineapple is main.

The administrative structure under this municipality has five major departments. It consists of Administrative, planning and Monitoring Department, Infrastructure development and Environment management Department, Social and Economic development Department, Education, Youth and Sports Department, Internal account section.

The Chairperson and Vice chairperson this rural municipality are Lekhnath Ghimire and Kamal Kumari Yonghang respectively.