Tribeni rural municipality is sittuated in the southern part of the Rukum (west) district. VDCs such as Rugha, Khara, Muru, Peugha and Nuwakot, were combined in Tribeni rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 85.48 square Kilometers and is divided into 10 wards. Rolpa district lies in the east of Tribeni rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Chaurjahari municipality and Sanibheri rural municipality in the west, Musikot municipality in the north and Salyan and Rolpa district in the south. Tribeni rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 19404 consisting male population 8839 and female population of 10565 as of Census of Nepal 2011. There are 3609 households in Tribeni rural municipality.

The name of this rural municipality is based on the combination of rivers flows from Rugha, Khara, Muru. This rural municipality lies at the height of 1,125 Mtr. to 2,682 Mtr. maximum area of this rural municipality is covered by hilly area and mountains etc. Gharti, Magar, Bista, Bahun, Chhetri, Dalit, Janajati etc are some of the major caste and ethnic groups who reside in this rural municipality and celebrates Dashain, Tihar, Magheshakranti, Ramnawami, Baishakepurnima, Janaipurnima, Teej, Holi, Loshar etc. festivals in a friendly manner. All the residential of this rural municipality are engaged in agriculture & livestock farming too. Mr. Jhakku Prasad Gharti (Magar) and Mrs. Nirmala Bista Khadka are the chairman and vice chairman of the Tribeni rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Simrutu Kharaneta, Rukum (West).