Situated towards the eastern face of Sindhuli district, Tinpatan Rural Municipality was formed by combining eight then VDCs Bakajor, Jarayotar, Lampatantar, Aambote, Bahuntilpung, Bhimsthan and Belghari. The Rural municipality has total area of 280.96 square kilo meter and is divided into eleven wards. Tinpatan Rural Municipality lies in the east of Kamalamai Municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Kamalamai Municipality in the west, Golanjor Rural Municipality in the north, Phikkal Rural Municipality in north-east and Dudhauli Rural Municipality in the south. The geography of this Rural municipality includes steep hills as well as plain lands. Since there are some hillocks risen in the Chure located in this area like hearth stone, the place is named Chulachuli.

Tinpatan Rural Municipality consists of 6,879 households with total population of 36,405 (male 17,376 & female 19,029) as of Census of Nepal 2011. Tinpatan Rural Municipality turned into Rural Municipality when fulfilling the requirement of the new constitution of 2015. There lived various castes of peoples like Chhetri, Brahaman, Magar, Newar, Kaami, Damai, Sarki, Bhujel, Majhi, Tamang, Sunuwar, Rai etc. and we found variety in cultural values also. They celebrate festivals like Vijayadashami, Dipawali, Ramnawami, Maghesankranti, Saunesankranti, Teej, Buddhapurnima, Janaipurnima etc.

Mr. Karna Bahadur Magar & Mrs. Padmamaya Tamang are the Chairman & Vice-Chairman respectively of the Tinpatan Rural Municipality