Jan 27, 2022

Thori Rural Municipality is situated at north-west part of Parsa district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Thori, Nirmal Basti and Suwarnapur Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded Chitwan National Park from north and east, Indian border at west and south and Jirabhawani Rural Municipality from west. This local unit is divided into five wards. This local unit is named after Thori bazaar that connects Nepal and India.

Total population of this Rural Municipality is 20,296, which cover 4,247 households as per the census 2011. Population of female is 10,565 and male is 9,832. Ward number four is most populated ward. Total area covered by this local unit is 128.67 kilometer square. Most of the land is occupied by farming area. There are number of ethnic groups residing under this local unit. Hindu Madhesi, Muslim and Mountain people are major ethnic groups. Among both Mountain and Madhesi community there are number of caste and surnames. This area has relatively high number of mountain people in Parsa district. Nepali is major language and Hindu is major religion. Most of the people are involved in farming. There are number of religious and historical areas including Balmiki Ashram in this area, which opens possibility of tourism.

Mr. Padam Lal Shrestha is Chairperson and Ms. Shanti Maya Thing is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Suwarnapur is center of this local unit.