Thalara Rural Municipality is located at mid-south part of Bajhang district, Sudur pashim province. It was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Dangaji, Parakatne, Kotbhairav, Koiralakot and Malumela Village Development Committees. It is surrounded by Doti district at west, Khaptadchhanna Rural Municipality at east, Seti river, Kedarsyu, Durgathali and Chhabispathivera Rural Municipalities at north and Khaptad national park and Doti district at south. It has been divided into nine wards. Thalara was named by combining two local words Sthal means place and Hara means green that describes its greenery and beauty.

It covers total area of 105.51 kilometer square. Most of the land is surrounded by forest and grass. Its total population is 17,952 according to the census 2011. Out of them 8,970 are male and 8,982 are female.  There are 3221 households in Thalara Rural Municipality. Its density is 170/kilometer square. Almost all people speak Bajhangi language. There are 16 ethnic groups residing in this Rural Municipality out of which two major ethnic groups Chhetri covers 51.2% and  Brahnim covers 20.73%.  Literacy rate of this local unit is 59.22%.

Major occupation of people in Thalara Rural Municipality is agriculture, animal husbandry and Indian employment. Major crops in this area are Paddy, Wheat, Maize, Barley and Millet. Among animal husbandry cow, buffalo, sheep, goat, poultry and pig are major animals. Its west and south part touches Khaptad national park and it is home of different birds and animals. Natural beauty enlarges the possibility of tourism in this area. Ward number two is most populated ward followed by ward number nine and three.

Mr. Bhuwaneswor Upadhdhya is Chairperson and Ms. Gangu Devi Khadayat is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Total number of elected local representatives is 47. Kotbhairav village is the center of this Rural Municipality.