Tamakoshi Rural Municipality situates southern part of the Dolakha district.Tamakoshi  Rural Municipality was formed by combining then  Hanwa, Chyanma, Jhule, Bhirkot, Japhe, Malu, and Shahare VDCs. The Rural municipality has total area of 153.06 square kilo meter and is divided into 7 wards. Ramechhap district lies in the east of Tamakoshi  Rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Bigu rural municipality in the west, Baiteshowr rural municipality in the north and Khimti river and Ramechhap district boarder in the south. The geography of this Rural municipality includes high hills mountains, and cold weather. Tamakoshi  rural municipality has the total population of 18,849 consisting male population 8,776 and female population of 10,073 as of Census of Nepal 2011. There are 4,345 households in Tamakoshi  rural municipality.

Tamakoshi rural municipality is named after the famous river of Nepal ‘Tamakoshi’. Kshetri, Tamang, Sherpa, Newar, Brahamin, etc. are the major ethnic group of this rural municipality. Agriculture and tourism are the major source of income of this rural municipality. People do livestock farming as their major economic activities. Foreign employment is increasing in recent years.

Mr. Ishowr Chandra Pokhrel and Mrs. Urmila Khadka K.C are the chairman and vice chairman of the Tamakoshi  rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Japhe, Dolakha.

Source: https://Tamakoshimun.gov.np/