The geographical area of Sunkoshi Rural Municipality is 143.75 sq km. It has a population of 18550 according to census 2011. This rural municipality has 10 wards. It was formed by merging five former VDCs. It is surrounded by Siddhicharan municipality in the east and Champadevi gaunpalika in the west and Molung gaunpalika in the north and Sindhuli district in the south. The headquarter of this municipality is situated in Mulkharka.

This place has possibility of lead reserve and slate but has not been yet made any effort to use the resources for good. The agricultural land here are not being use to its high potential for production. Lured by modern life style people here are in foreign labour, daily wage works, running local shop to fulfill their economic aspirations.

The Chairperson and Vice chairperson this rural municipality are Rudra Prashad Adhikari and Durga Kumari Tamang respectively.