Situated towards the eastern face of Kavreplanchowk District, Sunkishi Rural Municipality was formed by combining five then VDCs Susheshwar Dumja, Jhagajholi Ratamata, Puranojhagajholi, Sitalpati and Majhuwa. The Rural municipality has total area of 154.68 square kilo meter and is divided into seven wards. Sunkoshi Rural Municipality is connected with northern part of Ghanglekh Rural Municipality & Kamalamai Municipality and western part of Golanjor Rural Municipality & western part of Manthali Municipality, Ramechhap District. The geography of this Rural municipality includes steep hills as well as plain lands. Since there are some hillocks risen in the Chure located in this area like hearth stone.  Agriculture is the main source of occupation of this Rural Municipality, and nowadays people of this Rural Municipality involved in livestock, floriculture and various cash crops too.

Sunkoshi Rural Municipality consists of 4,557 households with total population of 21,471 (male 9,988 & female 11,485) as of Census of Nepal 2011. Sunkoshi Rural Municipality turned into Rural Municipality when fulfilling the requirement of the new constitution of 2015. There lived various castes of peoples like Chhetri, Brahaman, Magar, Newar, Kaami, Damai, Sarki, Bhujel, Majhi, Tamang, Sunuwar, Rai etc. and we found variety in cultural values also. They celebrate festivals like Vijayadashami, Dipawali, Ramnawami, Maghesankranti, Saunesankranti, Teej, Buddhapurnima, Janaipurnima etc. Tamag caste have majority in this Rural Municipality. The tourist area as well as historic place Sindhuligadhi lies 150KM east from this Rural Municipality.

Mrs. Dipa Bohora (Dahal) & Mr. Dirba Sing Muktan are the Chairman & Vice-Chairman respectively of the Sunkoshi Rural Municipality.