Suddhodhan rural municipality is located in the eastern part of the kapilbastu district. VDCs such as Pithuwa, Patariya, Nandanagar, Labani, Bashkhor and Hathihawa, were combined in Suddhodhan rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 91.68 square kilometers and is divided into 6 wards. Rupandehi district lies in the east of Suddhodhan rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Mayadevi rural municipality in the west, Banganga municipality in the north and Nepal-India boarder in the south. The geography of this rural municipality includes plan fertile land. Suddhodhan rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 45201 consisting male population 22733 and female population of 22468 as of Census of Nepal 2011. There are 6346 households in Suddhodhan rural municipality.

The name of this rural municipality is based upon the name of Lord Buddhar’s father King Suddhodhan. This rural municipality is situated in the eastern part of Kapilvastu District. Brahaman, Muslim, Kurmi, Yadav, Pasi, Kalwar, Chamar, Mallaha, Dhobi, Chamar, etc reside in this rural municipality. Here, in this rural municipality all the seasonal corps can harvest & grow well. The major corps grows are Paddy, Wheat, Corn, Mustard, Sunflower, Peanuts, Potato etc. In these days people also engaged in harvesting many cash crops like vegetables, mushroom, livestock, etc.

Mr. Nishar Ahamad Khan and Mrs. Sudha Devi Pandey are the chairman and vice chairman of the Suddhodhan rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Labani, Kapilbastu.