Jan 27, 2022

Sonama Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Mahottari district, Province two. This Rural Municipality was established at 2073 B.S. by combining then Sonama, Raghunathpur, Khairbanni and Sundarpur Village Development Commettees. This local unit is surrounded by Samsi Rural Municipality and Gaushala Municipality from east, Gaushala Municipality from north, Samsi Rurai Municipality and Indian border from south and Indian border from west. This local unit is divided into eight wards. This is plain land of south Nepal.

As per the census 2011, total population of Sonama Rural Municipality is 38,747. Ward number three is most populated ward. Maithali is major language spoken. Most of the people follow Hindu religion followed by Muslim. This local unit covers total area of 57.77 kilometer square area. Most of the land is occupied by farming area, garden and forest. Farming is major occupation of people followed by animal husbandry, foreign employment and trade. Though most of the residence is connected by road network and electricity, this area has irrigation problem.

Chairperson of Sonama Rural Municipality is Mr. Raj Kumar Yadav and Ms. Bibha Devi Shah is Vice-chairperson. Ward number one, Sonama village is center of this local unit.