Feb 1, 2022

Sigas Rural Municipality is situated at mid-east part of Baitadi district, Sudur Paschim province. it was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Gajari, Shikharpur, Sigas, Dhungaad, Thalakaanda, Shivalinga and Choukham Village Development Committees. It has been categorized into nine wards. It is surrounded by Patan Municipality and Surnaya Rural Municipality at west, Bajhang district at north, Doti district at east and Darchula district at south. This Rural Municipality covers high altitude mountain area. It is largest Rural Municipality of Baitadi district. It is named after the religious place of Hindu holy Sigas Dham. Local government is giving priority to infrastructure development, agriculture and social change.

As per the census 2011, total population of Sigas Rural Municipality is 21,510 which cover 3,733 households. Population of male is 10,371 and female is 11,139. Total area covered by this Rural Municipality 245.44 kilometer square. Ward number two is most populated ward followed by ward number six and nine. There are about ten ethnic communities residing here, out of them Chhetri dominates the population by covering 74% followed by Thakuri, Brahmin and Lohar. Baitadeli is the major language spoken. Literacy rate is 53%.  Majority of population is involved in survival agriculture. Foreign employment is another source of income. It is holy place of different temples, mountains, forest, herbs, plants, birds and animals.

Mr. Harishing Dhami is Chairperson and Ms. Dropati Chand is Vice-chairperson of Sigas Rural Municipality. Number of local representatives is 47. Center of this Rural Municipality is at Shivalinga village.