Saipal Rural Municipality is situated at north side of Bajhang district. Then Kanda Village Development Committee was converted into Saipal Rural Municipality in 2073 B.S. It has been divided into five wards. It has been surrounded by Bajura district at east, Humla district and parts of Tibet at north, Darchula district at west and Talkot and Surma Rural Municipalities and Bungal Municipality at south. Only 42% of people are literate in this Rural Municipality. It is mountain area with high slope and cold weather. Name of Saipal Rural Municipality has been kept after the popular mountain Saipal which height is 7025 meter. It is largest and least populated local level of Bajhang district.

It covers 146.27 kilometer square of area and it has the population of only 2182 people with 363 households as per the census of 2011. It is least populated local level of Bajhang district. Animal husbandry, farming and seasonal Indian employment are major occupation in this area. Most of the land is occupied by snow throughout the year.

There are more than 17 ethnic groups residing here and majority of ethnic group is Chhetri and majority of people speak Nepali language. . Majority of people are Hindu and major festivals are Dashain and Tihar. Ward number three is most populated ward followed by ward number five and two.

Mr. Rajendra Bahadur Dhami is Chairperson and Ms. Kalpana Devi Bohara is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. There are 27 representatives elected in local government election. Center of this Rural Municipality is Kanda village.