Jan 27, 2022

Rupani Rural Municipality is situated at mid-north part of Saptari district, province number two. This Rural Municipality was established 2073 B.S. by combining then Nakati Rayapur, Kataiya, Jamuni Madhepura Basbiti and Terhauta Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Shambhunath Municipality from east, Agnisair Krishnasawarnam Rural Municipality from west, Rajbiraj Municipality, Bishnupur and Belhi Chhapena Rural Municipalites from south and Udayapur district from north. This was named after Rupani temple which is located here. This local unit has been divided into six wards.

As per the household survey 2075, total population of this Rural Municipality is 28,465 covering 6,231 households. Population of male is 15,185 and female is 13,274. Ward number one is most populated ward. There are about 10 different ethnic groups residing under this local unit out of them Madhesi Upper Caste are major ethnic community constituting 43.6% followed by Madhesi Dalit, Muslim and Terai Indigenous people. This local unit covers total area of 56.08 kilometer square. Almost 90% land is covered by farming area and remaining by rivers, gardens and forest. Maithali is major language which constitutes 90.84% population followed by Bhojpuri and Nepali. Farming is major occupation under this area. Paddy, maize, wheat and mustard are major crops that could be cultivated along with different vegetables and fruits. This area is one of the major paddies cultivating area of Nepal. Literacy rate is 63%.

Mr. Hareram Yadav is Chairperson and Ms. Bechani Kumari Sardar is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Number of local representatives of this local unit is 34 and number of employees working under this Rural Municipality is 29. Rupani bazaar is center of this local unit.