The geographical area of Rautamai Rural Municipality is 204 sq km. It has a population of 23481 according to census 2011. This rural municipality has eight wards. It was formed by merging six former VDCs. The headquarter of this municipality is situated in Bhuttar.     

It is named after the Rauta pokhari of this gaunpalika. Subtropical climate of the land is giving farmers opportunity to grow those that can’t be grown in cold highland. So, the production capacity is also high of such land compare to highland. People here are also benefited by easy access to facilities to expand its market because of the geography.     

The Chairperson and Vice chairperson this rural municipality are Gajendra Nahadur Khadka and Kumari Jyu Thakuri respectively.