Situated in the western part of Makawanpur district, Raksirang Rural Municipality was formed by combining four then VDCs, Raksirang, Kaakada, Sarikhet & Khauranga. The Rural municipality has total area of 226.7 square kilo meter and is divided nine wards. The eastern part of Raksirang Rural Municipality is connected with Hetauda Sub-Metropolitan City & Kailash Rural Municipality, Makawanpur, western part with Rapti Municiplaiy, Chitwan similarly, northern part with Kailash Rural Municipality & Benighat Rorang Rural Municipality, Dhading and southern part with Manahar Rural Municipality, Makawanpur District. The geography of this rural municipality includes steep hills as well as plain lands.

Raksirang Rural Municipality has total population of 26,192 (male 13,110 & female 13,082) as of Census of Nepal 2011. Raksirang Rural Municipality was turned into rural municipality when fulfilling the requirement of the new constitution of 2015. This Rural municipality has 4,557 households. Basically Tamang, Chepang, Dalit, Janajati, Chhetri, Brahaman, Bankariya & Rai etc resides in this Rural Municipality. And they celebrate festivals like Dashain, Tihar, Buddha Purnima. Lohsar, Krishnajanmastami, etc.  Agriculture is the major source of occupation of this Rural Municipality.

The center of this newly formed rural municipality is situated in Chainpur. Mr. Rajkumar Malla is the Chairman of this rural municipality and Mrs. Nirmala Himdung is Vice-chairman.