Jan 31, 2022

Nason Rural Municipality is situated at east part of Manang district, Gandaki province. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Dharapani, Thoche and Tachai Bagarchhap Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Gorkha district from east, Chame Rural Municipality and Lamjung district from west, Chinese border from north and Lamjung district from south. This local unit is named after old residence of this area Nason village. There are nine wards in this local unit. This is one of the least populated local unit of Nepal as Manang district is least populated district of Nepal. This lies under Besi Shahar- Chame road and connected by poor quality road.

As per the census 2011, total population of Nason Rural Municipality is 1,938. Gurung are major ethnic communities residing under this Rural Municipality followed by Punel and Dalit.  Gurung language is major language followed by Manangi. Buddhism and Hinduism are major religions. Most of the people have access to electricity. Animal husbandry is major occupation of people residing here. It covers total area of 709.58 kilometer square. Most of the area is covered by snow, butanes, mountain rocks and farming land. As Annapurna conservative area is being popular among domestic and foreign tourists, this area has enormous possibility of tourism development.

Mr. Chandra Ghale is Chairperson and Ms. Kamal Maya Gurung is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Center of this Rural Municipality is ward number three, Dharapani village. Total number of elected local representatives is 47. Number of employees working under Rural Municipality administration is 26.