Jan 27, 2022

Naraha Rural Municipality is situated at mid-part of Siraha district, province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Devipur, Chandra Ayodhyapur, Barchhawa and Naraha Balakawa Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Golbazar Municipality from east and north, Bishnupur Rural Municipality from south and Mirchaiya and Kalyanpur Municipalities from west. It has been divided into five wards.

Total population of Naraha Rural Municipality is 16,639 which include 3,941 households as per the census 2011. Population of male is 7,997 and female is 8,722. There are number of ethnic communities under Madhesi upper caste, lower caste and endogenous people residing under this Rural Municipality, among them major ethnic groups are Madhesi, Tharu, Muslim and Marwari. Maithali is major language spoken and Hindu is religion of most of the people. This local unit covers total 29.28 kilometer square area. Most of the land is covered farming and forest along with rivers, gardens and butanes. Most of the people are involved in farming. Foreign employment and service are other occupations. It lacks good education and infrastructure. So, local government has prioritized infrastructure development, agriculture, education, health and social changes as major sectors of policy and program.

Mr. Ramsharan Yadav is Chairperson and Ms. Gulaw Devi Chaurhary is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Total number of employees working under Rural Municipality is 28. Naraha bazaar is center of this local unit.