Mathagadhi rural municipality is situated in the southern part of the palpa district. Adjoining areas of VDCs such as Chidipani, Rupse, kaseni, jhadewa, Gethadi, Rahabash and Bahadurpur, were combined in Mathagadhi rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 215.49000000000001 square kilometres and is divided into 8 wards. Parbakhola and Nisdi rural municipality lies in the east of Mathagadhi rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Tinau rural municipality and Tansen municipality in the west, Purbakhola, Rambha and Baganash rural municipality in the north and Rupandehi and Nawalparasi district in the south. The geography of this rural municipality is composed of steep slopes and high mountain. Mathagadhi rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 25017 consisting male population 11116 and female population of 13901 according to the population census of Nepal 2011. There are 5066 households in Mathagadhi rural municipality.

The said rural municipality is situated at the height of approx. 5,000.00 Ft. from sea level. Magar, Brahaman, Kaami, Chhetri, Kumal, Sarki, Damai, Newar, Gharti, Muslim, Badi, Dasnamietc reside in this rural municipality. The main source of income of this rural municipality is agriculture, livestock, private/government job & foreign employment. Festivals like Dashain, Tihar, Magheshakranti, Ramnawami, Chaitedashain, Baishakha Purnima, Teej, Janaipurnima, Eid, Ramjanetc are celebrated in this rural municipality.

Mr. Santosh Kumar Thapa and Mrs. Nirmala Bhattrai are the chairman and vice chairman of the Mathagadhi rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Jhadewa, Palpa.