Feb 1, 2022

Masta Rural Municipality is situated at mid-east part of Bajhang district, Sudur Pashim province. it is connected with district headquarter Chainpur. It was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Kotdeval, Bhatekhole, Rilu and Masta Village Development Committees. It has been divided into seven wards. It is surrounded by Bajura district at east, Jay Prithvi Municipality at west, Talkot Rural Municipality at north and Bajura district and Jay Prithvi Municipality at south. This Rural Municipality has been named after Masta temple. It is high mountain area with cold weather.

Population of Masta Rural Municipality is 14951 and number of household is 2456 as per the census 2011. It covers total area of 109.24 kilometer square. Density of the Rural Municipality is 140 people per kilometer square. Ward number one is most populated ward followed by two and seven. More than seventy percent people speak Nepali language and remaining people speak Bajhangi language. It is the residing place of about twelve different ethnic groups. Among them Chhetri are dominating ethnic group with 77% occupancy. Literacy rate is 54%. Much of the land is occupied by forest, rocky mountain and grass.

Masta Rural Minicipality is naturally enriched as tapowan natural hot water area also lies here and beautiful scene of Saipal, Jethi Bahurani and other Himalayan range could be seen from here. Such natural beauty and different religious temples including Masta maximizes the potential for tourism development. Agriculture, herb collection, animal husbandry, Indian employment and tourism are major source of income here. Potato, banana, paddy, wheat, maize are major crops.

Mr. Karna Kathayat is ChairpersonĀ  and Ms. Bhagwati Bohara is Vice-chairperson of Masta Rural Municipality. Bhatekhola village is the center of this Rural Municipality. 37 local representatives were elected during last local level election.