Malarani rural municipality is located in the northern part of the Arghakhachi district. Existing VDCs such as Khan, Khandaha, Bangi, Hansapur, Gokhunga, Arghatosh and Mareng, were combined in Malarani rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 101.06 square Kilometers and is divided into 9 wards. Chhatradev rural municipality lies in the east of Malarani rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Bhumika Sthan municipality and Pyuthan district in the west, Pyuthan district and Gulmi district in the north and Sandikharka municipality and Bhumika sthan municipality in the south. Malarani rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 28044 consisting male population 11869 and female population of 16175 as of Census of Nepal 2011. There are 6824 households in Malarani rural municipality.

Malarani rural municipality is situated in hilly area. The main source of income of this rural municipality is agriculture, livestock, private/government job & foreign employment. In these days people also engaged in harvesting many cash crops like vegetables, mushroom, livestock, etc. Festivals like Dashain, Tihar, Magheshakranti, Ramnawami, Chaitedashain, Baishakha Purnima, Teej, Janaipurnimaetc are celebrated and castes like Brahaman, Chhetri, Newar, Magar, Kaami, Damai, Sarkietc reside in this rural municipality.

Mr. Balkrishna Acharya and Mrs. Pramila Chhetri are the chairman and vice chairman of the Malarani rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Khandaha, Arghakhachi.