Mahottari Rural Municipality is situated at south part of Mahottari district, Province two. This Rural Municipality was established at 2073 B.S. by combining then Damhi, Madai and Gonarpur Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Ekdara Rural Municipality  from west, Balawa Municipality from north, Jaleswor Municipality from south and Pipara Rural Municipality from east. This local unit is divided into six wards. This is plain land of south Nepal.

As per the census 2011, total population of Mahottari Rural Municipality is 27,430 which cover 4,861 households. Population of female is 13,616 and male is 13,814. There are about 35 different ethnic communities residing under this Rural Municipality, among them Yadav are largest population followed by Terai Brahmin, Muslim and Sudi. Maithali is major language spoken which constitute 98% of population. Most of the people follow Hindu religion followed by Muslim. This local unit covers total area of 28.08 kilometer square area. Literacy rate is 46.44%. Most of the people are involved in farming but it lacks irrigation facility. Animal husbandry, service and foreign employment are other occupations. This area is connected with road network and most of the households have electricity facility.

Chairperson of Mahottari Rural Municipality is Mr. Sunil Kumar Raya and Ms. Sita Devi Shaha is Vice-chairperson. Jaleswor village is center of this local unit. Total number of employees working under this local unit is 8.