Mahadeva Rural Municipality is situated at mid part of Saptari district, province number two. This Rural Municipality was established 2073 B.S. by combining then Pakari, Dadha, Bathnaha, Mahadeva and Bhagwatipur Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Rajbiraj Municipality from east, Hanuman Nagar Kankaini Municipality and Tirahut Rural Municipality from west, Tilathi Koiladi Rural Municipality from south and Agnisar Krishnasarwan Rural Municipality from north. This was named after the Hindu God Mahadeva whose temple and Village of same name lies here. This unit has been categorized into six wards. It is south Nepal plain land area appropriate for farming.

As per the household survey 2075, total population of this Rural Municipality is 28,542 covering 5,395 households. Population of male is 14,215 and female is 14,327. Yadav, Mandal, Das, Sardar, Raut and Khanga are major ethnic groups residing here.This local unit covers total area of 34.97 kilometer square. Most of the land is covered by forest and farming area. Maithali is major language spoken. Farming is major occupation under this area. Paddy, maize, wheat and mustard are major crops that could be cultivated. Agriculture, animal husbandry, infrastructure development and social development are major focus area of local government. This local unit is connected by gravel road and electricity.

Mr. Deep Kumar Yadav is Chairperson and Ms. Mamata Kumari Yadav is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Number of local representatives of this local unit is 34 and number of employees working under this Rural Municipality is 18. Bathnaha village is center of this local unit.