Laxminiya Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Dhanusa district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Sinurjoda, Sapahi and Baniniya Village Development Committees and some parts of Janakpur Sub-metropolitan city. This local unit is surrounded by Bateswor Rural Municipality and Chhireswornath Municipality from north, Mahottari district from west, Mithila Bihari and Chhireswornath Municipalities and from east and Janakpur Sub-metropolitan city from south. This local unit is divided into seven wards.

As per the census 2011, total population of Laxminiya Rural Municipality is 28,251 including 4,995 households. Population of male is 14,429 and female is 13.831. Most populated ward is ward number three. There are about 32 different ethnic communities residing under this local unit. Among them Yadav is largest population constituting 40% followed by Muslim, Sudi and Chamar. Hindu is major religion followed by Muslim. There are about 13 language speaking people residing under this local unit. Majority of people (96.28%) speak Maithali language. This covers total area of 30.66 kilometer square. Most of the land is covered by farming and forest. Agriculture is major occupation over here complementary occupations to agriculture are animal husbandry and fishery. Trade, foreign employment and service are other occupations. This area is connected by road network and most of the people have electricity access.

Mr. Bindeswor Yadav is Chairperson and Ms. Indrakala Yadav is Vice-chairperson of Laxminiya Rural Municipality. Laxminiya village is center of this local unit. Total number of employees working under this local unit is 9.