Kedarsyu Rural Municipality is situated at south-west part of Bajhang district, Sudur Pashim province. It was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Rayal, Banchh, Bhamchour and Bhairavnath Village Development Committees. It has been categorized into nine wards. This Rural Municipality is surrounded by Durgathali Rural Municipality at east, Bungal Rural Municipality at north, Bittharchid Rural Municipality at west and Thalara Rural Municipality at south. Most of the land is occupied by mountain and forest area. Only 52% population is literate.

Total population of this Rural Municipality is 21,307. Covering 3.3% land of Bajhang district, its total area is 113.91 kilometer square. It is second least populated local unit in Bajhang after Saipal. Almost half of the population speaks Nepali and remaining half Bajhangi language. There are more than 22 ethnic groups residing in this local level unit. Chhetri is the dominating ethnic group in this Rural Municipality. Majority of people are engaged in animal husbandry, farming and seasonal employment in India. Majority of land is not suitable for farming. Maize, Barley, Potato are major crops in this area. . Majority of people are Hindu and major festivals are Dashain and Tihar.  Ward number one is most populated ward followed by ward number six and eight.

Mr. Indra Bahadur Bhandari is Chairperson and Ms. Nisha Dhami is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. There are 37 elected representatives from local level election in this Rural Municipality. Rayal village is center of this Rural Municipality.