The geographical area of Katahari Rural Municipality is 51.59 sq km. It has a population of 39775 according to census 2011. This rural municipality has seven wards. It was formed by merging three former VDCs. The headquarter of this municipality is situated in Katahari.

Despite the fertile land in terai the people living here are below poverty land. The major problem of people here is access and ownership in land to involve in the farming. So, the poverty alleviation fund are working here to target those population living in poverty.

The Chairperson and Vice chairperson this rural municipality are Ram Kumar Kamath and Manjita Kumari Sardar respectively.