Jaganathpur Rural Municipality is situated at mid-south-east part of Parsa district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Janakitola, Ghoddauda Pipra, Jaganathpur Sira, Pidariguthi, Bijawaniya, Auraha and Masihani Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Paterwasungauli and Kakhuwa Prasauni Rural Municipalites from east, Indian border at west and south and Jira Bhawani Rural Municipality at north. This local unit is divided into six wards. This unit is named after Jaganathpur temple and.

Total population of this Rural Municipality is 31,591 as per the census 2011. Ward number four is most populated ward. Total area covered by this local unit is 45.29 kilometer square. Most of the land is occupied by farming area. There are number of ethnic groups residing under this local unit. Hindu Madhesi, Muslim and Mountain people are major ethnic groups. Among Madhesi community there are number of caste and surnames. Bhojpuri is major language and Hindu is major religion. Most of the people are involved in farming.

Mr. Jalim Miya is Chairperson and Ms. Vismila Khatun is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Ward number five Viswa is center of this local unit.