Jan 31, 2022

Harinas Rural Municipality is situated at mid-east part of Syangja district, Gandaki province. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then chanas, Chisapani, Chitre, Kyakmi and Chinnebas Village Development Committees.This has been divided into seven wards. This local unit is surrounded by Tanahu district from east and north, Biruwa Rural Municipality and Chapakot Municipality from west and Chapakot Municipality and Tanahu from south. This is named after the popular Harinas forest. Local government has prioritized infrastructure development, agriculture and tourism.

As per the household survey 2074 B.S., total population of Harinas Rural Municipality is 21,778 which include 3,394 households. Population of male is 11,070 and female is 10,070. This occupies total area of 87.48 kilometer square. Magar, Brahmin, Dalit, Newar and Gurung are major ethnic groups. Nepali, Gurung and Magar are major language spoken. Most of the households have electricity access and more than 90% people are literate. Most people follow Hindu religion and there are Muslim minorities as well.  Farming is major occupation followed by service and foreign employment. Paddy, wheat, maize and millet are major crops that can be cultivated. Most of the land is occupied by forest and farming area.

Mr. Khim Narayan Manandhar is Chairperson and Ms. Jhanamaya Parajuli is Vice-chairperson of Harinas Rural Municipality. Total number of local representatives is 37. Center of this local level unit is at Chitribhanjyang village. There are eight employees working under this local level unit.