Gosaikunda rural municipality situates in the northern part of the Rasuwa district. Gosaikunda rural municipalitywas formed by combining then Dhunche, Syafru, Langtang, Bridadhim, Thuman, and Timure VDCs. The Rural municipality has total area of 978.76square kilo meter and is divided into 6wards. Sindhupalchowk districtlies in the east of Gosaikunda rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Aamachodinmo rural municipality in the west, Nepal-China border in the north and Nakunda and Kalika rural municipalityin the south. The geography of this Rural municipality includes naturally decorated high hills snow mountains, and cold weather. Gosaikunda rural municipality has the total population of 7143consisting male population 3697and female population of 3446as of Census of Nepal 2011. There are 2017households in Gosaikunda rural municipality.

The name of this rural municipality is based upon the name of famous lake Gosaikunda. People like Brhaman, Chhetri, Gurung, Shrestha, Tamang, Lama, Ghale etc. resides in this rural municipality. Agriculture, live stock farming and trade are the major economic activities of this rural municipality. People of this rural municipality celebrate the festivals like Dashain, Tihar, Loasar, Buddha Jayanti, Teej etc.  This rural municipality is famous for touristic destination and its natural beauty. Nepali is the major language of this rural municipality.

Mr. Kaisang Nurpu Tamang and Mrs. Kar Gyalmu Shresthaare the chairman and vice chairman of the Gosaikunda rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Syaprubesi, Rasuwa.