Durgathali Rural Municipality is situated at mid-part of Bajhang district, Sudur Pashim province. It was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Chaudhari, Maulali and Sainpasela Village Development Committees. It has been divided into seven wards. This Rural Municipality is surrounded by Chhabispathivera Rural Municipality at east, Bungal Municipality at north, Kedarsyu Rural Municipality at west and Thalara and Kedarsyu Rural Municipalities at south. This Rural Municipality has been named after two words Durga which is hindu goddess and Sthal means place describing the place of Durga goddess.

Total population of Durgathali Rural Municipality is 12,972 as per the census of 2011. It covers 61.83 kilometer square area. Ward number five is most populated ward followed by seven and three. Nepali and Bhangi language speaking people are almost equal in number. There are about 14 ethnic groups residing under this local level unit out of which Chhetri is dominating ethnicity with 70% occupancy followed by Brahmin and Kami. Literacy rate is 55%. Majority of the people are Hindu and Dashain and Tihar are major festivals. Density is 210 per kilometer square.

Major occupation of people in Durgathali Rural Municipality is agriculture, animal husbandry and Indian employment. Major crops in this area are Paddy, Wheat, Maize, Barley, Orange and Millet. Among animal husbandry cow, buffalo, sheep, goat, poultry and pig are major animals. People are also engaged in producing dairy products.

Mr. Prayagraj Joshi is Chairperson and Ms. Paravati Devi Japrel is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. There are 37 elected members in this local level during last local election. Chaudhari village is center of Durgathali Rural Municipality.

Source: www.durgathalimun.gov.np