Feb 1, 2022

Duhun Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Darchula district, Sudur Pashim province. it was established in 2073 by combining then Pipalchauri, Hikila, Dhari and Brahmadev Village Development Committees. It has been categorized into five wards. It is surrounded by Vyas Rural Municipality at north, Indian boarder at west, Mahakali Municipality at south and Nougaha Rural Municipality at east. It is smallest local level unit of Darchula district.

Population of Duhum Rural Municipality is 10,818 with 1982 households as per the census of 2011. Out of them 5,102 are male and 5,716 are female. It covers total 65.35 kilometer square area. Ward number two is most populated ward followed by ward number four and one. Brahmin, Chhetri, Thakuri and Dalit are major ethnic communities residing here. Hindu is major religion. Most of the land is covered by mountains, forest, grass and rocks. Agriculture, animal husbandry and seasonal Indian employment are major source of income. Wheat, Barley, Potato, Maize are major crops that could be cultivated. Pasha daha, Brahma Daha, Shiddha Topi are tourism probable places of this Rural Municipality.

Mr. Pulendra Bahadur Karki is Chairperson and Ms. Ishwori Joshi is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Center of this Rural Municipality is located at ward number two, Hikila Village. Number of local elected representatives is 27.

Source: www.duhunmum.gov.np