Dhawalagiri Rural Municipality is situated at north-west part of Myagdi district, Gandaki province. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. It combines then Gurja, Lulang, Muna, Mudi, Malkabang, Marang and Takam Village Development Committees. This Rural Municipality is surrounded by Kaski district from east, Raghu Ganga Rural Municipality from west, Mustang district from north and Parbat district from south. This is named after Mount Dhawalagiri, the sixth tallest mountain of the world with 8,167 meter height. This local unit is divided into 7 wards. This is largest local level of Myagdi, covering 45% area of whole district.

Population of Dhawalagiri Rural Municipality is 14,412 covering 3,230 households as per the census 2011. Population of male is 7,770 and female is 6,342. Ward number seven is most populated ward. This local unit covers 1036.66 kilometer square area. Upper parts are covered by snow. There are about 12 ethnic groups residing under this local unit. Among them highest population Magar constitute 36% followed by Kami, Chhetri and Chhantyal. Most of the people (95%) speak Nepali language followed by Magar. Active populatio constitute 57%. Except Dhawalagiri number of other mountain range are here including mount churen, mount putha, mount gurja, mount manapathi etc. Farming is major occupation constituting 53% people followed by foreign employment and service.

Ms. Thamsara Pun is Chairperson and Mr Resham Chhantyal is Vice-chairperson of Dhawalagiri Rural Municipality. Total number of local representatives is 44. Muna village is the center of this local unit. Number of employees working under this local unit is 12.