Dhankaul Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Sarlahi district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Dhankaul Pashchim, Sekhauna, Harkthawa, Mahinathpur and Chatauth Village Development Committees. This local level unit is surrounded by Godaita Municipality from east, Rautahat district from west, Basbariya Rural Municipality from north and Ramnagar Rural Municipality from south. This local unit is divided into seven wards.

As per the census 2011, total population of this Rural Municipality is 32,881 which cover 5,233 households. Population of male is 16,942 and female is 15,939. Ward number one is most populated ward. It covers total area of 45.94 kilometer square. Farming is major occupation. Most of the people speak Maithali language. Hindu is religion of majority of people.

Mr. Ram Ashraya Shaha is Chairperson and Ms. Akali Shahani is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality.