Jan 31, 2022

Devghat Rural Municipality is situated at south-east part of Tanahu district, Gandaki province. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S., by combining then Kota, Baidi, Chhipchhipe and Devghat Village Development Committees. This is named after the holy Devghat Dham located at the bank of  Kaligandaki river. This has been divided into five wards. This local unit is surrounded by Aabukhaireni Rural Municipality and Chitwan district from east, Rising Rural Municipality and Nawalparasi district from west, Rising, Bandipur and Aabu Khaireni Rural Municipality and Vyas Municipality from north and Nawalparasi and Chitwan districts from south.

Total population of Devghat Rural Municipality is 16,139 with 3,435 households, as per the census 2011. Population of male is 7,484 and female is 8,647. Ward number five is most populated ward. There are about 23 ethnic groups residing under this area, out of which Magar 34% and Gurung 32% are major ethnic communities. Out of ten different mother tongues, major languages are Nepali 44%, Magar 27.68% and Gurung 21.98%. Literacy rate is 59.86%. Most of the people are involved in farming followed by foreign employment and trade. Religious importance of Devghat area has maximized the probability of tourism here. Hotel business and boating has been already started. Number of old age homes, temples and religious places are being identified under this area. This local unit covers total area of 159 kilometer square.

Mr. Durga Bahadur Thapa is Chairperson and Ms. Bimala Thapa is Vice-chairperson of Devghat Rural Municipality. Total number of elected local representatives is 27. Number of employees working under this Rural Municipality is 13.