Chhatradev rural municipality is located in the east-north part of the Arghakhachi district. Existing VDCs such as Chhatraganj, Bhagwati, Balkot, Kerunga, Thulapokhara, Arghatosh(2-5), Mareng(7-9) and Chidika(1-8), were combined in Chhatradev rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 87.62 square Kilometers and is divided into 8 wards. Gulmi district lies in the east of Chhatradev rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Sandhikharka municipality in the west, Malarani rural municipality and Gulmi district in the north and Panini rural municipality in the south. Chhatradev rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 25335 consisting male population 10371 and female population of 14964 as of Census of Nepal 2011. There are 6341 households in Chhatradev rural municipality.

The center of this rural municipality is situated at the height of 1,250.00 Mtr. from sea level. There is an ancient tale regarding the name of this rural municipality. During the Mahabharat times i.e., before 5,000 years ago Lord Krishna caught the head of Chhatramaharaj (also known as Ulluk) and build the temple. At the time of Dashain, people gather for worshipping. In these days people also engaged in harvesting many cash crops like vegetables, mushroom, livestock, etc. Festivals like Dashain, Tihar, Magheshakranti, Ramnawami, Chaitedashain, Baishakha Purnima, Teej, Janaipurnimaetc are celebrated and castes like Brahaman, Chhetri, Newar, Magar, Kaami, Damai, Sarkietc reside in this rural municipality. The major occupational source is agriculture, livestock, cash crops, foreign employment etc.

Mr. Lekhanath Pokharel and Mrs. Tulsi Devi Shrestha are the chairman and vice chairman of the Chhatradev rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Chhatraganj, Arghakhachi.