Chandrakot rural municipality is located in the eastern part of the Gulmi district. VDCs such as Shantipur, Harewa, Harrachaur, Bishukharka, Turang, Gwaagha, Rupakot and Dibrung, were combined in Chandrakot rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 105.73 square kilometers and is divided into 8 wards. Kaligandaki rural municipality lies in the east of Chandrakot rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Satyawati and Chhatrakot rural municipality in the west, Baglung district in the north and Musikot municipality and Gulmidarbar rural municipality in the south. The geography of this rural municipality is steep slopes with high mountain. Chandrakot rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 21827 consisting male population 9395 and female population of 12432 according to the population census of  of Nepal 2011. There are 5121 households in Chandrakot rural municipality.

The famous religious places Chandrakot, Dibrung, Chakreshwar and natural lakes like Timure Lake, Daha Lake, Arjeba Waterfall etc lies in this rural municipality. The name of this rural municipality is based upon the historic place Chandrakot. Magar, Brahaman, Kaami, Chhetri, Kumal, Sarki, Damai, Newar, Ghartietc reside in this rural municipality. The main source of income of this rural municipality is agriculture, livestock, private/government job & foreign employment. In these days people also engaged in harvesting many cash crops like vegetables, mushroom, livestock, etc. Festivals like Dashain, Tihar, Magheshakranti, Ramnawami, Chaitedashain, Baishakha Purnima, Teej, Janaipurnimaetc are celebrated in this rural municipality.

Mr. Dorna Bahadur Khatri and Mrs. Radhika Aryal are the chairman and vice chairman of the Chandrakot rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Shantipur, Gulmi.