Chakraghatta Rural Municipality is situated at mid-south part of Sarlahi district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2074 B.S. by combining then Aurahi, Khoriya, Belhi, Sundarpur and Pidariya Village Development Committees. This local level unit is surrounded by Malangwa and Kawilasi Municipalities from east, Godeta Municipality and Basbariya Rural Municipality from west, Kabilasi and Bathrahawa Municipalities from north and Kaudena Rural Municipality from south. This local unit is divided into nine wards.

As per the census 2011, total population of this Rural Municipality is 27,952. Ward number three is most populated ward. It covers total area of 25.84 kilometer square.

Mr. Bikram Yadav is Chairperson and Ms. Basoda Kumari is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. total number of employees working under this local unit is 19.