Bishnupur Rural Municipality is situated at mid part of Saptari district, province number two. This Rural Municipality was established 2073 B.S. by combining then Simraha Sigiyoun, Malekpur, Jamuni Madhepura, Boriya and Itahari Pishnupur Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Belhi Chapena Rural Municipality from east, Kanchanpur Rajbiraj Municipality from west, Chhinnamasta Rural Municipality from south and Rupani Rural Municipality from north. This was named after the Bishnupur village. This unit has been categorized into srvenwards. It is plain land area of south Nepal.

As per the household survey 2074, total population of this Rural Municipality is 23,038 covering 4,370 households. Population of male is 11,438 and female is 11,600. Tharu, Muslim, Madhesi Brahmin, Dalit are major ethnic communities. This local unit covers total area of 37 kilometer square. Most of the land is covered by forest and farming area. Maithali is major language spoken. Agriculture is major occupation under this area. Paddy, maize, wheat and mustard are major crops that could be cultivated. Fishery and animal husbandry are substituting occupations for agriculture. Foreign employment and service are other occupation. This local unit is connected by gravel road and most of the people have electricity facility. Agriculture, infrastructure, education and health are major focus sectors of local government.

Mr. Lilambar Yadav is Chairperson and Ms. Janjira Devi Yadav is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Number of local representatives of this local unit is 39. Ward number 7, Bishnupur village is center of this local unit.