Bishnupur Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Siraha district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established at 2073 B.S. by combining then Bishnupur, Rajpur, Thallaha, Kataha and Lamipur Village Development Committees. This local level is surrounded Anarma Rural Municipality from east, Kalyanpur Municipality from west, Naraha Rural Municipality from north and Siraha Municipality from south. This local unit is divided into five wards.

As per the census total population of Bishnupur Rural Municipality is 18,522. This covers total area of 26.34 kilometer square. Most of the land is occupied by farming area and forest. Maithali is major language and Hindu is religion for majority of people residing here.

Mr. Jageswor Yadav isĀ  Chairperson and Ms. Arhula Devi Shingh is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality.