Jan 31, 2022

Biruwa Rural Municipality is situated at west part of Syangja district, Gandaki province. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Biruwa Archale, Manakamana, Pelkachaur, Rangbhang, Chinnebas, Kichanas and Oraste Village Development Committees. This local unit is divided into eight wards. This is surrounded by Harinas Rural Municipality and Parbat district from west, Bhirkot and Waling Municipalities from west, Putalibazar Municipality from north and Chapakot Municipality and Harinas Rural Municipality from south. This local level unit is 17 kilometer far from Rangkhola bazaar of Siddhartha highway. This is named after Biruwa village.

As per the household survey 2074 B.S., total population of Biruwa Rural Municipality is 25,971 which include 3,736 households. Population of male is 12,232 and female is 12,947. Average number of household is 6.7 members per family. Ward number four is most populated ward. Nepali is the most spoken language with 42% occupancy followed by Magar and Gurung. There are about twelve ethnic communities residing in this Rural Municipality, among them Magar are large population with 38% occupancy followed by Brahmin and Gurung. All people have access to electricity and 95% people are literate. Total area of this Rural Municipality is 95.79 kilometer square, out of which 70% land is occupied by farming and remaining by forest, butanes, rocks and rivers. Agriculture is the major occupation as 74% people are involved in farming. Other occupations are service and foreign employment. Paddy, maize, millet and wheat are major crops.

Mr. Chun Prasad Sharm is Chairperson and Ms. Devi Kumari Thapa is Vice-chairperson of Biruwa Rural Municipality. Total number of local representatives is 42. Center of this Rural Municipality is at Biruwa village, ward number one.