Bhagawatimai rural municipality is situated in the middle-east part of the Dailekh district. VDCs such as Pagnath, Rum, Mehelatoli, Jaganath, Katti, and Badabhairav, were combined in Bhagawatimai rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 151.52 square kilo meter and is divided into 7 wards. Jajarkot district lies in the east of Bhagawatimai rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Narayan municipality and Dungeshowr rural municipality in the west, Naumule rural muncipality in the north and Gurans rural municipality, and Dungeshowr rural municipality in the south. The geography of this rural municipality steeply and high mountain and cold weather. Bhagawatimai rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 18778 consisting male population 8996 and female population of 9782 according to the population  Census of Nepal 2011. There are 3359 households in Bhagawatimai rural municipality.

Brahmin, Chhetri, Dalit, Janajatietc are major caste and ethnic groups residing in this rural municipality and celebrates Dashain, Tihar, Magheshakranti, Ramnawami, Baishakepurnima, Janaipurnima, Teej, Holi, Loshar etc. festivals in a friendly manner. Majority of people of this rural municipality are engaged in agriculture & livestock farming too. The atmosphere & climate of this rural municipality is healthy & good. Paddy, Wheat, Corn, Maize and various cash crops are the main agro product of this rural municipality.

Mr. Dan Bahadur Thapa and Mrs. Chandra Regemi are the chairman and vice chairman of the Bhagawatimai rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Paganath, Dailekh.