Bhagwanpur Rural Municipality is situated at south-west part of Siraha district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Bhagwanpur, Nahara, Rigoul and Inarwa Village Development Committees. This local unit has been divided into five wards. This unit is surrounded of Saptari district from west, Sakhuwanankar Katti Rural Municipality from north, Nawarajpur Rural Municipality from east and Indian border from south.

As per the census 2011, total population of Bhagwanpur Rural Municipality is 20,957. Thadi Viswapatti is main market of this local unit which is common market of both Nepal and India. This area is connected by Lahan. It covers total area of 33.03 kilometer square. Most of the area is connected by road network and most of the people have electricity access. Farming is major occupation.

Mr. Bechan Prasad Yadav is Chairperson and Ms. Sitadevi Yadav is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality.