Bateshwor Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Dhanusa district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Laxminiwas, Bhuchakrapur, Bateshwor and Shantipur Village Development Committees. This local unit is surrounded by Mithila Municipality from north, Lachhminiya Rural Municipality from south, Mithila and Chireswornath Municipalities from east and Mahottari district from west. This local unit is divided into five wards. This local unit is named after name of place-Bateswor. This is plain land of south Nepal.

As per the census 2011, total population of Bateswor Rural Municipality is 21,539 including 3,671 households. Population of male is 11,149 and female is 10,381. Most populated ward is ward number five. There are about 47 different ethnic communities residing under this local unit. Both Madhesi and Mountain people reside here. Among them Yadav is largest population constituting 7% followed by Teli, Chamar and Magar. Hindu is major religion followed by Muslim. There are about 12 language speaking people residing under this local unit. Majority of people (66.16%) speak Maithali language followed by Nepali. This covers total area of 39.66 kilometer square. Most of the land is covered by farming and forest. Farming is major occupation over here followed by fishery, foreign employment and service.

Mr. Dambar Bahadur Raut is Chairperson and Ms. Pramila Devi is Vice-chairperson of Bateswor Rural Municipality. Bateswor village is center of this local unit. Total number of employees working under this local unit is 19.