Bariyar Patti Rural Municipality is situated at mid-south part of Siraha district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Bariyar Patti, Tenuwa Patti, Janaki Nagar, Kachanari and Jijhoul Village Development Committees. This local level unit is surrounded by Nawarajpur Rural Municipality from west, Aurahi Rural Municipality from east, Sukhipur Municipality and Laxmipur Patsari Rural Municipality from north and Indian border from south. This local unit has been divided into five wards.

As per the census 2011, total population of Bariyar Patti Rural Municipality is 25,256. It covers total area of 37.72 kilometer square. Maithali is major language and Hindu is major religion. Majority of people are involved in farming.

Mr. Santosh Kumar Mahato is Chairperson and Ms. Rekha Kumari Yadav is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Ward number 3 is center of this local unit. Total number of employees working under this Rural Municipality is 20.