Barahtal rural municipality is located in the western part of the Surkhet district. Existing VDCs such as Hariharpur, Taranga, Kunathari, Pokharikanda and Lekhagaun, were combined in Barahtal rural municipality. The Rural municipality has total area of 455.08 square Kilometers and is divided into 10 wards. Birendranagar municipality lies in the east of Barahtal rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Panchapuri municipality in the west, Dailekh district in the north and Bardiya district in the south. Barahtal rural municipality has the total population of the municipality is 26802 consisting male population 12986 and female population of 13816 as of Census of Nepal 2011. There are 5448 households in Barahtal rural municipality.

This rural municipality name is after the famous, religious and historical Baraha lake located in ward no. 6. Hindu, Buddhist and Christian are the major religious group of this rural municipality. Chhetri, Brahamin, Magar, Newar, Damai, Kami, Sarki, are major community inhabitant in this rural municipality. People speak Nepali language. People’s major source of income is agriculture, tourism, and livestock farming. Dashain, Tihar, Budhha Purnima, Maghi, Loahasar, SrawanSakranti, Janai Purnima etc. are the major festivals people do celebrate in this rural municipality. Baspani view tower, Girighat, Paragliding, Bhairamnath temple, Thapadera, Sisneri, Baraha lake, etc are major important places of this rural municipality.

Mr. Tez Bahadur Basnet and Mrs. Shova Kumari Sharma are the chairman and vice chairman of the Barahtal rural municipality. The rural municipality office is situated in Kunathari, Surkhet.