Baragadhi Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Bara district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Pathara, Bisunpurwa, Khopawa, Pipra Basantapur, Narahi and Sinhasaniga Village Development Committees. This local unit is divided into six wards. This Rural Municipality is surrounded by Rautahat district from east, Karaiyamai Rural Municipality from west, Kolhabi Municipality from north and Aadarshakotwal Rural Municipality from south. This local unit lies at 14 kilometer east to Kalaiya bazaar, headquarter of Bara district. This is named after Bara port.

As per the census 2011, total population of this Rural Municipality is 27,191. Most populated ward is ward number two. This covers total area of 39.29 kilometer square. 96.76% of land is covered by farming area. Hindu is major religions followed by people and Bhojpuri is major language spoken. Agriculture is major occupation though most of the farming land lacks irrigation facility. This local unit is connected with road network and most of the households have electricity access. Paddy, wheat, mustard, sunflower are major crops cultivated along with different fruits, vegetables. Animal husbandry is also among major occupations.

Mr. Bhola Prasad Gupta is Chairperson and Ms. Geeta Shah is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Ward number three Khopawa is center of this local unit. Total number of local representatives is 33. Total number of staffs working under this local unit is 43.