Bannigadhi Jayagadh Rural Municipality is located in Achham district of Sudur Pashim province. It was established in 2073 B.S., by combining then Gajra, Janalikot, Baradadevi, Timissen, Kalika and Darna Village Development Committees. It has been divided into six wards. Name of this local unit has been kept after religious goddess Bannigadh Tripura Sundari. This Rural Municipality has been surrounded by Ramroshan Rural Municipality at east, Safebagar Municipality at west, Mellekh Rural Municipality at north and Mangalsen Municipality at south. it occupies 58.26 kilometer square area, out of which 40% is covered by forest and butane area, 40% by agriculture used land and remaining by residence, rivers and grounds. There are 29 community and other forests in this local level unit.

Total population of this Rural Municipality is 17,426 with 3376 households as per the census 2011. There are more than 14 ethnic groups residing in this Rural Municipality dominated by Chhetri with 60.87% occupancy followed by Brahmin and Damai. Nepali is the major language spoken with 83.29% population speaking Nepali language followed by Achhami and Tharu. As agriculture is dominating occupation of this Rural Municipality, paddy, maize, wheat, orange and mango are major food and cash crops. There are 84 educational institutions in this local level.

Mr. Rajendra Bahadur Khadga is the Chairperson and Mr. Lok Bahadur Saud is the Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Jayagadh village is the center of this Rural Municipality. Number of elected local level representatives is 32.