Jan 31, 2022

Situated towards the south-east part of Makawanpur district, Bakaiya Rural Municipality was formed by combining five then VDCs, Dhiyal, Chhatiwan, Shikharpur, Manthali and Thingan. The Rural municipality has total area of 393.75 square kilo meter and is divided twelve wards. Some part of Lalitpur District is connected with northern of Bakaiya Rural municipality. Similarly, this rural municipality is surrounded by Makawanpurgadhi Rural Municipality & Hetauda Sub-Metropolitan City from west, Province 2 lies in south, Bhimfedi Rural Municipality & Lalitpur District from north and Bagmati Rural Municipality from east. The geography of this Rural municipality includes steep hills as well as plain lands. Geographically this rural municipality is quite backward and development of physical infrastructure is also weak in this rural municipality. Indices of education, health, poverty etc are found weak in this Bakaiya Rural Municipality.

Bakaiya Rural Municipality has total population of 39,620 (male 19,129 & female 20,491) as of Census of Nepal 2011. Bakaiya Rural Municipality was turned into rural municipality when fulfilling the requirement of the new constitution of 2015. This Rural municipality has 7,538 households. Basically Brahaman, Chhetri, Lama, Tamang, Kaami, Damai, Newar, etc resides in this Rural Municipality. And they celebrate festivals like Dashain, Tihar, Buddha Purnima. Lohsar, Krishnajanmastami, etc.  Agriculture is the major source of occupation of this Rural Municipality.

The center of this newly formed rural municipality is situated in then Chhatiwan VDC. Mr. Damodar Khanal is the Chairman of this rural municipality and Mrs. Sarala Bolakhe is Vice-chairman.