Aabu Khaireni Rural Municipality is situated at south-east part of Tanahu district, Gandaki province. The Pokhara-Muglin part of Prithvi Highway goes through this Rural Municipality. This local level unit was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Aabukhairenit Muncipality and Chhimkeswori and Deurali Village Development Committees. This is surrounded by Chitwan and Gorkha district from east, Bandipur and Devghat Rural Municipalities from west, Bandipur Rural Municipality from north and Chitwan district from south. This is divided into six wards. This was named after the combination of two trees Mango (Aap) and Senegalia catechu trunks (Khayar). It lies in 82 kilometer west to Pokhara, province capital of Gandaki and largest city of mid-Nepal.

As per the census 2011, total population of Aabu Khaireni is 20,768 with 4,911 households. Population of male is 9,504 and female is 11,264. Ward number three is most populated ward. There are more than 28 ethnic groups residing in this Rural Municipality, among them Gurung are dominating population which constitutes 30.8% people followed by Magar, Chhetri and Newar. Mother tongue of largest population is Nepali with 65.7%, followed by Gurung and Magar. 68.85% people are literate. Total area covered by this local level is 128 kilometer square. Most of the land is occupied by forest and farming area. Majority of people are involved in farming followed by foreign employment, service and trade.

Mr. Gir Bahadur Thapa is Chairperson and Ms. Puspadevi Shrestha is Vice-chairperson of Aabu Khaireni Rural Municipality. Total number of elected local representatives is 32. Total number of employees working under Rural Municipality is 37. Center of this Rural Municipality is at Aabu Khaireni bazaar.