Jan 31, 2022

Ajirkot Rural Municipality is situated at mid-west part of Gorkha district, Gandaki province. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S., by combining then Ghyaachchok, Hanshapur, Simjung and Muchchok Village Development Committees. This is surrounded by Sulikot Rural Municipality from east, Lamjung district from west, Chumnubri Rural Municipality from north and Siranchok and Sulikot Rural Municipalities from south. This includes mountain area with cold weather. This is divided into five wards.

As per the census 2011, total population of Ajirkot Rural Municipality is 15,602 that cover 3,618 households. Ward number five is most populated ward. There are more than 18 ethnic groups residing under this Rural Municipality, among them Gurung are Major populations covering 34.57% followed by Brahmin and Tamang. There are about ten language spoken here, among them largest population constituting 56.82% people speak Nepali followed by Gurung and Tamang. It is the area of precious herbs, animals and planets. This covers total area of 198.05 kilometer square. Most of the land is occupied by mountain, forest and rocks. Daroundi and Chepe are major rivers flowing through this area. Most of the people are involved in farming but tourism is another prospective sector. There are number of trekking routes identified. This is connected with road.

Mr. Phanindra Prasad Dhital is Chairperson and Ms. Chandra Maya Gurung is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Number of elected representatives during local election is 27. Ward number three, Hansapur village is center of this Rural Municipality. Number of staffs working under this local level unit is 19.